Skip to content

Friday Fun, Now With Office Space References

November 5, 2010

Do I have your attention?

First, the not-so-fun:

LDL Cholesterol Calculator – I had a “health screening” to decide how much of a premium I have to pay for health insurance next year.  This is a brilliant idea, and I should be pumped about it, right?  I mean, I am fucking healthy.  I put in the blood, sweat and tears.  I take my vitamins, hit the gym 4-5 times a week and generally stay active.  I eat well, I sleep well, I live (generally) stress-free and I work out.  I AM FUCKING HEALTHY DAMMIT.  Makes me feel like the guy from Office Space

“I deal with the goddamn customers so the engineers don’t have to.  I HAVE PEOPLE SKILLS.”

I get so worked up because (and if this is you as well, I feel you) it’s frustrating as hell to work out and eat right, become fairly muscular (5’10” – 190 – ~9-10% BF, just sayin’)  and learn that your BMI is 27 and now Obama thinks you’re fat.  Well I ain’t down with that.

Right after BMI is the DREADED cholesterol “risk” test.  I get the results and my non-fasted trigycerides were at 40.  40.   Right?  They were so low that that actually 40 is an estimate, the test couldn’t measure them that low.  HDL: 58, Total Cholesterol: 196 (AHHHHHHH…. “BORDERLINE” HIGH CHOLESTEROL! RUN FOR THE FUCKING HILLS).  This put my LDL at 130 or so (an apparently highly risky level)… I got interested and found that most doctors are using a formula to calculate LDL based off of trigylceride and HDL count called the Friedewald formula.  Turns out there is a much newer test developed by Iranian Scientists in 2008 to account for those people who do not have high cholesterol/tryglyceride numbers (the Friedewald formula was developed in 1972).  This formula puts my LDL at 95.  To them, this is a much less risky number, so I’m hoping they are using this calculation.  Put your latest results into the LDL Cholesterol Calculator to find your (maybe?) more realistic LDL number.  This tells nothing of particle size or oxidation levels however, so this test is basically useless either way, but what the fuck ever.

Anyhow – without further ado:

How bout some Paleo(ish) Chocolate Chip Cookies this weekend? I mean it’s worth a try… if anyone tries these, let me know how they are!  I’ll get the wife to make them and post it.

And a couple of videos and pictures to ice this post…

Just let your mind relax and soak this guy up…

A Picture is worth a thousand words:

This one is actually sad, I think.  But he got his six-pack abs!

Rock and Roll Hoochie Coo

One Comment leave one →
  1. August 8, 2014 9:55 pm

    Greetings! Very helpful advice in this particular article!
    It’s the little changes that produce the largest changes.
    Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

