Skip to content

SORRY!!! JUST MARRIED!

October 20, 2010

So sorry to anyone who regularly follows PBB… In the last two weeks I have been crazy busy… I know we all say this, but on October 8, I GOT MARRIED!

That's me on the right...

Then we immediately left for our Honeymoon to GORGEOUS St. John, USVI:

 

One of the best beaches in the world... (Trunk Bay, St. John)

Where, despite all the beauty and majesty of a tropical island, there was no working internet.

I was promised service... but got none!

So – I apologize for for not just putting this post in the week of the 4th, but I was bananas busy!  It totally just slipped through the cracks.

I will update this post when we get our pictures uploaded – if you are interested you can see some of the sights from my trip, live vicariously through me and get an idea of what I look like (don’t know if that’s going to help or hurt traffic…).

DRUM ROLL…

Here’s a couple articles.  Good reads – check ’em out:

LDL Cholesterol Calculator – I will touch more on this on Friday, but I have a “health screening” tomorrow to decide how much of a premium I have to pay for health insurance next year.  Among the tests is the DREADED cholesterol “risk” test.  I got mine done recently, and my non-fasted triglycerides were at 40.  Pretty low – but my LDL was “high” at 130.  I did a little digging and found that while LDL is calculated based on HDL and TRIGS, etc, there is a much newer (and less often used) test developed by Iranian Scientists to account for those people who do not have high cholesterol numbers (the Friedewald formula was developed in 1972).  This formula puts my LDL at 95.  To them, this is a much less risky number, so I’m hoping they are using this calculation.  Put your latest results into the calculator to find your (probably) more realistic LDL number.  This tells nothing of particle size or oxidation levels however, so this test is basically useless either way, but what the fuck ever.

The China Study vs the China study | The Blog of Michael R. Eades, M.D. – a great run through of what the China Study says from Dr. Eades.  Very smart man.

CHEZ GROK’S PRIMAL RECIPES! Cookbook – Food.com – Chez Grok has some solid Primal/Paleoish recipes here, from desserts to breakfast and soup to nuts.  Good place to dig up tonight’s chow!

Rock and Roll – see you on Friday!

T

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Griffin Frankel permalink
    March 14, 2012 2:50 pm

    I love St. John!!! I hope you loved your visit. What resort did you stay ar?

    • March 30, 2012 9:37 am

      The Westin. That was legitimately the greatest week of my life. My wife and I had so much fun, got so much sun… I wish I could do it once a year. Ate at Jake’s everyday too :-).

Leave a Reply

