Skip to content

Deads + Hills

August 2, 2010

On Friday, I shared some thoughts on hills – specifically how to know how many you need to do each time.

Today, I start running my hills, cognizant of the recommendation I gave regarding spontaneous-hands-on-hips that happens 100% of the time one runs hills.  So the entire time I’m running them, I’m thinking, “I am NOT going to let my hands do the hips thing, because I want to do a ton of these today.”  I get through 6, and I’m feeling pretty good.  Breathing a bit heavy, but nothing major.

This WILL happen to you. When? That, I cannot answer...

I run #7, and as I’m coming down the hill, Son of a Vondruke if my hands didn’t appear spontaneously on my hips.  I couldn’t believe it.  I felt like I got caught with my hand in the cookie jar.  I am nothing if not a man of my word, so I ran two more (well, actually 3, I have rep number OCD and had to even it out) and went home.

WORK: Deadlift (5)

  1. Z-Health Warmup
  2. Shoulder Pre/Rehab
  3. Jump Rope
  4. Deadlift – Work up to Today’s Max Weight @ 5 Reps
    • 135 x 3 x 2
    • 185 x 3 x2
    • 225 x 3
    • 255 x 3
    • 285 x 5
    • 330 x 5
    • 375 x 4, 1
  5. Deadlift – 5 x 10 @ ~40% of 1RM
  6. HILLS

GRUB:

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

