Skip to content

MetCon Upper

July 16, 2010

No FOF today – it’s been a busy week and I just haven’t found anything good!  Check out this video on the (proper) bench press from Dave Tate, of Westside Barbell and Elitefts.com.

Warning: Viewer discretion is advised (lots of the F-word)

So, at first, the machoness inside me was like: BS!  That’s a cheap way to bench!  Whimper.  But then I watched it again, and I realized that biomechanically, this form just makes sense.  The “macho” way I bench press may be like everyone else, but do we want to be like everyone else?

This form maximizes shoulder, wrist and elbow health.  That’s enough for me.  I’m a convert.  I don’t know if I’ll be able to get that extreme level of back arch, but I’m sure as heck gonna try!  I’d like to continue to workout and train at a high level for years to come, and this is a very minor change to help ensure that.  I suggest you follow suit.

EDIT: I worked with this style today (warm up took a long time, trying to get used to that arch it TOUGH.  I immediately noticed a difference in my body.  It all feels better an truthfully, more natural way to push.  You really feel like your whole body is going to explode, it’s so tight.  Shoulder DEFINITELY feels better pushing this way, as well as both wrists.  I will keep working with this style, and share any pointers I pick up along the way.

WORK: Metcon Upper

  1. Z-Health Warmup
  2. Handstand Holds/pushups
  3. Jump rope x 100
  4. Superset #1:
    • Dynamic Bench Press: Work up to 50% of 1RM, 8 sets x 3 reps
    • Pullups x 3-AMRAP (go till you slow down, not until failure – you’ve got a lot of sets to do)
  5. Superset #2 x 5-15 (aim for x number of total reps of each and do sets till you hit it):
    • Dips x AMRAP
    • Inverted Rows x AMRAP
    • Jump Rope

I did the superset as follows:

  • Dips x 5
  • Inverted Rows x 5
  • Jump Rope x 20, 1 Double Under

Did 12 sets in 14:07.  Post your sets and time in the comments.

Enjoy your weekend!  Deload week coming up, so push it one last day!

I dunno... Had to leave you with something on Friday!!!

Live long and prosper

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

