Skip to content

Salsa Chicken Recipe + Dynamic Lower TFOD 6.24.10

June 24, 2010

Continue doing Dynamic Lower days and you too will be dunking from the free throw line!

Ah, Dynamic Lower day.  I look forward to this workout (I look forward to every workout, but whatever) so much because I think it’s terribly important to develop balance and explosive power.  Doing single leg work will very quickly fix imbalances in flexibility, mobility and strength between your extremities.  The increase in explosive power can be felt immediately, as you will see after you perform this workout – I know I did.

Between Box Squats last week and the split squat jumps today, I’m very torn as to which direction to go next week.  Maybe mix it up again?  Only time will tell, you’ll have to tune in to find out!

Hadn’t fasted in a few weeks, but I got back on the wagon today.  Tons of energy, worked out at lunchtime, and as I write this at 3:30, I’m still feeling great and not hungry.  Fasting is a wonderful thing, especially when you’re dialed in to your sleep and diet.  I had been slacking a bit, allowed too many cheat meals and foods, drank too much… and over time started to suffer the same blood sugar swings that I had come to the paleo/primal milieu to avoid.

How did I right the ship?  I ate.  Tons.  As much as I could stomach at each meal without tracking.  I’d estimate at least 3000 calories a day, some days as high as 5 or 6000 (seriously).  This lasted the last 2-3 weeks, until yesterday, I got a white flag from my blood sugar.  I knew I was back in control of things, so I started my fast last night at around 8 or so.

WORK

  1. Z-Health Warmup
  2. Jump Rope x 100
  3. DB Split Squat Jumps (2 minute rest between sets)
    • BW x 3
    • BW x 3
    • +15lb DB x 5 x 4 sets
  4. Front Leg Raised Lunges
    • 25lb DB x 10 (each leg) x 4 sets
  5. DB Swings (One Arm) – 6 sets x 10
    • 3 sets for each arm, 30 sec rest between sets
    • 35lb x 6 sets

IMPORTANT: Rest between Split Squat sets, you need to be recovered – these jumps are for power, not endurance.  You will get plenty of conditioning from the last two lifts, focus on form and explosiveness.

FOOD

Salsa Chicken:

  • Put 2 pounds of Chicken into a Crock Pot (I used Thighs today, breasts are fine too)
  • Set on Low for at least 4 hours, as much as 8-10 (it’s a crock pot)
  • Pull chicken out and shred, put back into the Crock Pot
  • Add in 1 32 oz package (or homemade) salsa
  • Cook for an additional 30 min or so

Enjoy as part of a salad, with Guacamole and whatever other Mexican dish accouterments you so desire.

Via con dios

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

