Skip to content

Aaaaand… Deload Week is over

June 14, 2010

Upcoming – after applying the Split for the last 5 weeks, I recognize the need to make some tweaks.  Most notably will be the inclusion of Bench Press.  I will get more into this at another time, but anyone who insinuates that a 400lb Bench Press isn’t “functional” strength is fooling themselves.  That is real strength, and I will be using the Bench Press to facilitate greater gains in my Press.  I have some pointers on how to make sure Bench Press doesn’t impinge the shoulders as well.

Deload week is very boring to me.  I understand the necessity of the protocol, but the application just stinks.  I love going to the gym, I love training and I love lifting weights.  It is a passion, and to take a week “off” just doesn’t sit well with me.

Deload Week #2

  1. Brief Z-Health warmup
  2. Blackburns – 30 sec each @ 2.5 lbs
  3. Deadlift
    1. 5 x 185
    2. 5 x 225
    3. 5 x 275
  4. Superset of:
    1. Bench Press – 4 x 5 @ 135, 135, 145, 155
    2. Knee-Up Pullups – 4 x 5, 5, 3, 3 @ BW

For a deload day, fairly enjoyable.  In and out in 35 min.

Party on

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

