Skip to content

Congrats to the Chicago Blackhawks! + Deload Methodology

June 10, 2010

AAAAAAAHHHHHHH!  What a game last night, right?  After games like that, I will be missing the NHL playoffs!

Anyways… It’s a deload week, so yesterday was actually my first workout of the week.  I had thought of not even posting it, but I think it can help give an example of what a deload week can/should look like.  During a deload week, I will cram my 4 workouts into only 2, focusing on the big lifts.  In this example, I mashed up Squat and Press days.

The idea here is to work at peak around 50-65% of your 1RM for 5-8 reps, firing your muscles, but not taxing your system too much.  If you’re feeling good in the gym on a deload day, that’s great!  Remember that feeling when you come back next week.  As for today, use that feeling in some other endeavor.  We are in the business of active recovery while deloading, DO NOT PUSH IT.

Without further ado:

Deload Session #1

  1. Warmup (light Z-Health, I was hurrying)
  2. Squats
    • 135 x 5
    • 175 x 5
    • 205 x 5
  3. Superset:
  4. Alternate Feet/Running in Place Jump Rope x 100, 1 Double-Under

And that’s it.  Took me around 25-30 minutes.

Party on Dudes

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

