Skip to content

TFODs Squats + MetCon-ish Upper (6.3 + 6.4.10)

June 4, 2010

I know I’m not keeping up-to-date on these all the time, insert generic excuse here.

My last two TFODs were great, and reminded me why I love training so much.  Challenging, mentally demanding, physically exhausting – all in two workouts!

Thursday (6.3.10)

  1. Z-Health Neural Warmup – abridged version
  2. Diesel Crew Shoulder Rehab – Circuit #4
  3. Squats – 5/3/1
    • 245 x 5
    • 280 x 3
    • 315 x 4
  4. Squats – 5 x 10 @ 150#

Dude… seriously I was beat up from deadlifts (I didn’t follow my own advice of the 72 hour rule between deads and squats), and this workout killed me strength-wise.  I can’t say enough about the “Boring but Big” Wendler plan.  I can’t stress this enough, buy his book, it’s $20.  I’m not getting any kickback, I just think the guy is really on to something with this stuff. 

Friday (6.4.10)

  1. Chins + Alternating DB Military Press x 5 sets (Superset; with 45sec rest between supersets, none between lifts)
    1. Bodyweight Chinups – 7 reps
    2. DB Military – 25# x 10 each arm (a little easy, but fatigue made it harder the last sets)
  2. Inverted Rows + Box Pushups (in the video @ 4:12, with shoulder retractions) + L-Sit Hangs x 3 sets (no rest between exercises or sets, cycled straight through)
    1. Invert Rows x 8 reps (still improving on this, my shoulders need major rehab)
    2. Box Pushups w/Retraction x 10 (nice workout, the extra ROM is great, and the retractions were to add some shoulder rehab)
    3. L-Sit Hangs x 21, 21, 31 seconds
  3. Tabata Jump Rope, alternating between double-unders and boxer-style

Gassed afterwards.  Really pushed it, especially in the tabata jump ropes, and was rewards by being just smashed afterwards.  After I do workouts like these, I just feel like complete crap.  In a great way, though, as anyone who has felt like they’re going to puke PWO can attest to.

Party on dudes

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

