Skip to content

Is it wrong to want to look good naked?

June 4, 2010

“I lift weights for many reasons, including health, wellness and longevity, but body composition is very important to me, and I am not ashamed to admit it.” – You, said to yourself outloud, right now…

Say it with me – “I lift weights for many reasons, including health, wellness and longevity, but body composition is very important to me, and I am not ashamed to admit it.”

Feel better now?  Like a weight was lifted off your shoulders?

Admittedly, I come from a slightly meatheaded background, playing football and other sports my whole life.  I always enjoyed my time in the gym and training for those sports, but no matter how hard I tried, I could never stop doing curls.  You see, curls get girls.  Every high-schooler knows this.  Even though curls serve no purpose in football (don’t tell me they help you hold onto the ball – we both know we made that up to justify the use of curls in a football off-season program), I would always sneak them into my workouts!

I may have been lifting for performance and overall strength on the surface, but looking good topless was always a concern of mine.  In football, the diet typically advocated is the “SEE food” diet.  That means if you see food, you eat it.  Getting bigger and stronger was paramount, no matter the cost to body comp, but I always wanted to look like Brad Pitt from Fight Club.  You know what I’m talking about.

So why is it, even on a site called Primal Bodybuilding, I feel the need to dance around the body composition thing?  Listen, I know we all workout for various reasons, but I believe, somewhere deep down inside, the fact that we all want to look good naked is a driving factor in our fitness endeavors.  I know you wouldn’t associate with the paleo/primal lifestyle if a 6-pack was your only focus; you care deeply about avoiding diseases of society, living a long, fit life and generally being healthier than that douche Ancel Keys.

Underneath it all though, you know you want to look good too.  Whether you are ready to admit that it’s the primary force driving your lifestyle or not is up to you, but trust that doing so can really free up some mental space in your head.  You won’t be afraid of terms like “bodybuilding,” because you know you’re building your body from the inside out – using nutrition and top-notch exercise to get you there.  No matter what workout you choose – this could be Crossfit, Flex magazine, Primal Bodybuilding or bikini body bootcamp – if you’re eating and living with a tip-of-the-cap to our ancestral past, you will be improving your health inside and out.

Remember, body composition is a great sign of the changes you’ve made and the health that you’re improving, so don’t shy from it; embrace it.  Let those abs fly, check out your bis, tris, lats, delts and traps in the mirror, and Primal Bodybuild your ASS off (see what I did there?).

Party on Dudes

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

