Skip to content

W.O.D – 5/1/10 (Dynamic Lower/Squat)

May 1, 2010

“If you fail to win by one means, then win by another”–Musashi

I am a huge fan of Jim Wendler’s 5/3/1 workouts (if you don’t have this book, your life is currently incomplete.  Go buy it. Now.), and I just started using the “Boring but big” protocol (adding 5 sets of 10 reps after the main [heavy] lift) because I started to stall on Deadlift and Military.  I added it to my Power Clean day as well and paid the price (and yes, I did fall over after just like Carney did).

The Workout:

Power Cleans:

  • 5 reps @ 165#
  • 3 reps @ 185#
  • 6 reps @ 205# (PR)

Squats:

  • 1 x 10 reps @ 205#
  • 4 x 10 reps @ 185#

Notes:

6 reps of 205 was a personal best since I started Power Cleaning again, about 1-2 months ago.  I’m happy with the effort.  I hadn’t squatted for about a month or two before this, so post workout I was walking like a Saigon hooker after a long night.

Fasted workout, but I’ve been reading a bit of Leangains lately… And since I’ve been getting a bit sore-er than usual after workouts I thought I’d try adding BCAA’s pre and post workout.    I’m not much of a supplement user anymore, but I’m up for whatever can help.

My “breakfast” at about 1p (about an hour and a half after I got home):

  • 6 eggs – cooked in the bacon “grease” of…
  • 4 slices Bacon (Uncured, Nitrite-free) cooked in ghee

PS – If you don’t know who Musashi is, please look him up.

Leave a Reply

